bird soaring
header logo home
site map
contact us
north olmsted city schools
Superintendents Message
New Student Registration
Mailing List
About Our Schools
District Gallery
PowerSchool Parent Login
Athletic Awards at NOHS
The Spring Sports Night Recognition Ceremony held on May 24th recognized North Olmsted High School athletes for their sports accomplishments and for efforts in the classroom as scholar/athletes.

Athletic Director Tim Carras made a special presentation to senior Kyle Masterson for showing incredible strength of character in the face of adversity after suffering a serious accident at the beginning of the school year.

Kyle received the "Courageous Student" Award for showing our school and greater community tremendous resiliency and a positive attitude that is an example for us all.

Girls Track standouts Becky Szabo and Haley Reines broke long-standing school records.

Becky Szabo scored a 17’ 8” long jump to break the record set by her track coach, Michelle Jindra Sanborn!  (17’ 6 ½” – set in 1987) Michelle Sanborn is a member of the Athletic Hall of Fame and a graduate of the NOHS Class of 1988.

Haley Reines ran the 1600 meters in 5 minutes 16 seconds breaking the school record of 5 minutes 17 seconds held by Sally Blakely Fell - North Olmsted High School Class of 1980. Sally is one of the first Inductees in the North Olmsted High School Athletic Hall of Fame, started in 2000 by Tim Carras.

Sally Blakely Fell attended the Spring Sports Night to personally congratulate Haley Reines on breaking her 32-year record and present her with flowers.

Senior Matt Weber broke a 41-year school record for the discus by throwing 172 feet 4 inches, breaking the record set in 1971 of 164 feet 7inches.

Another school record was set with the sprint medley team of Sammy Ibrahim, Shamir Tomlinson, Steven Davis, and V'Del Bell with a time of 1:37.14.

Scholar Athlete Awards went to:  Ryan Kroll (Baseball); Mackenzie Lynes (Softball); Shubham Mangla (Boys Tennis); Kevin Stieger (Boys Track) and Sarah Popernack (Girls Track.)

Sportsmanship Awards went to:  Ryan Kroll (Baseball); Sara Worthing (Softball); Davesh Chauhan (Tennis); Mohammad Saab (Boys Track) and Kristen Wasik (Girls Track.)

The Ohio High School Athletic Association (OHSAA) awarded the Scholar/Athlete Award to Kevin Stieger and Sofia Chinchilla. This award recognizes the athletes for exemplary academics, athletics and sportsmanship and four Varsity letters.

The OHSAA Archie Griffin Sportsmanship Award for exemplary efforts to promote sportsmanship in their school and community went to Patrick Moran and Kristen Wasik.

 Visit the Photo Gallery for photo highlights.

Print This Article
Schools        Calendar        Board of Education        Departments        Financial Information        Staff Directory        Downloads/Links        Site Map
© 2018. North Olmsted City Schools. All Rights Reserved - School CMS created by eSchoolView